Grads receive awards at WSCA conference

Grads receive awards at WSCA conference

"Dream Catchers Vision Makers" was the theme of the 1996 Wisconsin School Counselor Association conference held on February 22.

Sally Morse Meinen BS'68 MS'89, WSCA president, opened the program with introductions. Sandra Sunquist Stanton MS '80, presented the Althea Brach Counselor of the Year awards.

Patricia Willkom Anderson BS '74 MS '76, a counselor in the Menomonie Public Schools, received the elementary division award.

The program described Anderson as district `pilot' person... always looking for the best ways to tie together community services and school related functions -a guidance counselor who truly believes in the dignity of the child."

Susan Funk Putra BS '74 MS '85, counselor in the Watertown Unified School District, and member of Alpha Phi sorority, was presented the middle school division award.

"A genuine love that is service, concern, and willingness to go the extra mile for each person's growth and betterment characterize Sue," said the program of Putra. "She is the unifier, juggler, teacher, and mentor who truly is a change agent."

Current UW-Stout graduate students in the school counseling program, Robert Ocker and Nou Yang, received awards for future school counselors. Ocker, who received the Stout Alumni Graduate Scholarship in 1995, is currently a guidance school counseling intern at Roosevelt Elementary in Eau Claire. Yang is on practicum at Menomonie High School and River Heights Elementary.

Honored at an Alumni Association hosted reception, John Deutscher announced his retirement after 30 years at Stout.

Outlook Spring '96