Alumni Outlook Magazine



class news



Don Voss ’90 was promoted to vice president of hotel sales and marketing at Treasure Island, Las Vegas.

Kari Davis Harsch ’91 is the owner of Apparel Resource Professional Recruitment, Phillips.

Barbara Lindeman Jackman MS ’91, ’92 is the visitation pastor/chaplain at Zion United Church of Christ, LeSueur, Minn.

Tamara Marketon Van Der Linden ’91 is the merchandising manager at City Farmer, a home accents and garden store in Ephraim. The 7,000-square-foot store, housed in a remodeled 1886 dairy barn, displays collections of high-end furnishings and linens as well as exclusive accessory lines and outdoor décor.

Karen Mayer Lehner ’92 was recently promoted to branch manager at U.S. Bank, Hugo, Minn.

David Richter ’92, Kendall Park, N.J., is manager of print purchasing for Ralph Lauren Fragrances, L’Oreal USA, New York.

Steven BS ’93, MS ’95 and Michelle Royer Kleist ’93 reside in Lexington, Ky. Steven has been promoted to production manager of the Stationery Products Division of 3M-Cynthiana. Michelle is the executive director at Destination Spa Group.

Ginger Hartse Lobliner ’93 is manager of space planning for Sears Holding Corp., Hoffman Estates, Ill.

David Semrau ’93, Lake Mary, Fla., was recently appointed southeast regional sales manager for Four Winns
Boat Co.

Eric Siler BS ’93, MS ’03, Wisconsin Rapids, received a 2006 Kohl Teaching Fellowship. Fellowship recipients are chosen for their superior ability to inspire a love of learning in their students, their ability to motivate others, and for their leadership and service within and outside the classroom. Siler is the marketing education/youth apprenticeship career and technical education coordinator for Wisconsin Rapids public schools.

Meg Felker Tryba ’93, Somerset, is a freelance quilt designer. Two of her quilt designs have been published in American Patchwork & Quilting magazine—October 2002 and October 2004 issues.

Bradley Moellenberndt ’94 is the general manager of Deer Valley Lodge Indoor Waterpark and Banquet Facility, Barneveld.

Dennis Klass ’95, Menomonie, is a captain with the Menomonie Fire Department.

Curtis Henderson ’96 is a masonry coordinator for Market & Johnson, Eau Claire.

Justin Hennessey ’96, Minnetonka, Minn., is a sales consultant for Renewal by Andersen.

Gary Phillips BS ’96, MS ’02, Chetek, has been named the UW-Barron County 2006–2007 Arthur M. Kaplan Fellow. Phillips is the university’s senior information processing consultant and was recognized for significant innovations and services provided to UW-Barron County students, staff and faculty. The Arthur M. Kaplan Award program was established to recognize outstanding contributions made to education by UW Colleges faculty and academic staff, and to acknowledge the positive spirit that Provost/Vice Chancellor Emeritus Arthur M. Kaplan contributed to enhance education in the UW Colleges. Kaplan Fellows are named from each of the 13 UW Colleges campuses annually.

Mark Fechter ’97 has accepted a new position as corporate staffing manager for BPI Technology Inc., Dakota
Dunes, S.D.

Karen Naland Freeman ’97 is a production assurance engineer with Florida Power and Light Energy, Harris, Iowa.

Tricia Foxwell Oberdas ’97 is a consulting information technology auditor for Securian, St. Paul, Minn.

Carlos Garcia ’98 is the president and CEO of Fleet Ad Corp., San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Tammy Zarecki Gorski ’98, Mosinee, has earned a master’s degree in social work from UW-Oshkosh.

John Schmidt ’98 is a product design engineer/project manager for AJ Manufacturing, Bloomer.

Amy Doepke Tancreto ’98 is assistant director of human resources at the Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, Huntington Beach, Calif.

Christine Fuller ’99 has been promoted to manager of the Montana Gift Corral Shops at the Gallatin Field Airport, Bozeman, Mont.

Justin Hess ’99 is a broker associate at Stix & Stones Fine Colorado Properties,
Denver, Colo.


William Chadek ’00 is the catering manager at the Radisson Paper Valley Hotel, Appleton.

Lynn Halverson ’00, Taylor, has earned a master’s degree in school administration from Viterbo University.

William McLeod IV ’00, Clay, N.Y., is head router at Southern Wine and Spirits.

Matthew Rybarczyk ’00 is director of finance for Blue Harbor Resort, Sheboygan.

David Burkey ’01 is the owner of KD Guest Ranch, a small, working guest ranch nestled in the rolling hills of Muskingum County near Adamsville, Ohio.

Jeno Herman ’01 is executive chef at Tagalong Golf and Resort on Red Cedar Lake in Birchwood.

Heather Nelson BS ’01, MS ’03 recently graduated from the University of Georgia with a Ph.D. in food science. She has begun work at Beam Global Wines and Spirits in
Clermont, Ky.

J.R. ’02 and Rebecca Smith Dachel ’01 reside in Woodbury, Minn. J.R. is a technology education teacher at Baldwin-Woodville High School in Baldwin, and Rebecca is a senior staff accountant at ECMC in St. Paul.

Dustin Green ’02 is the sous chef at Flemings Prime Steakhouse and Wine Bar, Madison.
Kimberley Bassett-Heitzmann MS ’02 was named executive vice president of Bassett Mechanical, Kaukauna. The company designs and installs heating, cooling and refrigeration systems.

Brad Matthees ’02 is the general manager of Rockville Links Club, Rockville
Centre, N.Y.

Christina Mroz ’03, Kellogg, Minn., is the owner of Complete Motions LLC, an at-home business that specializes in wellness and life coaching, Holy Yoga and Pilates instruction.

Forrest Parson ’03 is the owner/operator of Hungry Jack Lodge and Campground, Grand Marais, Minn.

Jessica Frein Sannes ’03 is a registered dietitian at St. Mary’s, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn.

Alan ’03 and Sherry Stark Smith ’05 reside in Eden Prairie, Minn. Alan is a floor plan analyst at Best Buy Corporate, Richfield, Minn. Sherry is a residential home manager for Meridian Services, Brooklyn Center, Minn.

Kristi Wenzel BS ’03, MS ’05, is the director of food and nutrition services at Select Specialty Hospital, Madison.

Rome Cagle ’04 is a telecom tech adviser for Eschelon Telecommunications, Minneapolis.

Sandra Hume MS ’04 was named the Association for Career and Technical Education National New Teacher of the Year in December 2006. She is currently an instructor at Chippewa Valley Technical College, Eau Claire.

Daniel Marten ’04 is a job planner/estimator for Interface Graphics Inc., Minneapolis.

Ryan O’Shea ’04 is a network engineer for Target Corp., Minneapolis.

Joshua Clark ’05 is assistant manager at Beach Point Club, Mamaroneck, N.Y.

Kelly Droege BA ’05, MS ’06 is human resources manager for Midwest Dental Management, Mondovi.

Joseph Hinz ’05 is a manufacturing engineer with Polaris Industries, Osceola.

Jill Krause ’05 is an assistant buyer for Harry and David Corp., Medford, Ore.

Jillian McDowell ’05, Blaine, Minn., has earned a master’s degree in media and communications from the London School of Economics and Political Science, London.

Jesse Noren ’05 is an estimator for SourceOne Graphics, Spring Lake Park, Minn.

Andrew Heltsley ’06 is second shift plant manager at Cintas, Eagan, Minn.

Douglas Kruschke ’06 is the owner of Haymarket Grill, Eau Claire.