Alumni Outlook Magazine




 BELOW: Stout Manual Training Building 1893-1897
 BOTTOM RIGHT: Stout Manual Training Building 1890-1893

State Sen. James Huff Stout, President Lorenzo Dow Harvey, and William C. Ribenack, Stout’s secretary, signed the Articles of Incorporation that created the Stout Institute on March 20, 1908.
For the first time, the institution was separated from the administration of the Menomonie school system, although the two continued to cooperate on many things including the sharing of a heating plant. A five-member board of directors was created to head the new institution of higher education.

The Stout Institute owned the land on which its buildings stood, which provided stability and allowed for expansion of the institute both in terms of the physical plant and in terms of enrollment.

The Articles of Incorporation also gave the school a name that, for the first time, would identify it as a unique institution.

But perhaps the most important legacy of the Articles of Incorporation is that the document officially streamlined multiple educational pursuits into one structured unit, so that when  Stout died two years later, the school was more easily recognized for its contributions to higher education. As a result, its administration was welcomed under the auspices of the state of Wisconsin.

 Sen. James Huff Stout

For close to half a century, the name Stout Institute was recognized around the world for excellence in education.