University of Wisconsin-Stout

Nov. 30, 2011

University of Wisconsin-Stout students in the student chapter of American Hotel & Lodging Association have had a busy and profitable November.

The 13 students, all majors in hotel, restaurant and tourism management, received scholarships while attending the Wisconsin Hotel & Lodging Association conference Nov. 11 in Appleton.

Lynne Jones, of New Brighton, Minn., and Sarah Sawasky, of Appleton, were awarded WH&LA scholarships of $500 and $1,000, respectively.

Jones, Kelli Roessler, of Waunakee, and Jennifer Schlitz, of Prior Lake, Minn., were awarded $1,000 scholarships from the American Hotel & Lodging Association.

Students also received WH&LA conference scholarships allowing them to attend the educational sessions, recognition luncheon, special student session and trade show.

Jones and Sawasky received conference scholarships as did: Cindy Beans, Ely, Minn.; Molly Borndale, Maplewood, Minn.; Heather Harmeyer, Milwaukee; Maria Aldea, Galati, Romania; David O’Connor, Cross Plains; Kirsten Blyth, Waterloo; Sean Sturman, Green Bay; Anna King, Esko, Minn.; and Amy Eidahl, Eau Claire.

UW-Stout School of Hospitality Leadership faculty members James Buergermeister, Phillip McGuirk and Damian Hanft also attended the conference.

An event attracting 20 UW-Stout alumni from the New York area was held during the conference.

Club Managers Association of America

The UW-Stout student chapter of the Club Managers Association of America recently sent 20 members to the CMAA student conference in Chicago.

One of the students who attended was Anna Jones, of Wild Rose. She also recently toured five Twin Cities-area golf clubs, including Hazeltine, which has held several major U.S. championships.

The UW-Stout CMAA chapter is holding a silent auction from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 7, on the second floor lobby of Heritage Hall and online. Bidding starts at 9 p.m. Tuesday, Dec. 6, and ends at 11:59 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 8. To bid online go to, enter the auction ID name: stoutcmaa11 and the password: futureleaders. With questions, contact or McGuirk, 715-232-2244,