University of Wisconsin-Stout

Nov. 21, 2011

The federal government’s recent appropriations bill ended all support for the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program for fiscal year 2012. UW-Stout in 2001 became the first higher education institution in the country to win the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award.

The award was named after Malcolm Baldrige, the 26th secretary of Commerce, and was established by Congress in 1987. The intent was to enhance the competitiveness and performance of U.S. businesses. Since 1988, 86 organizations have received Baldrige awards.

The Baldrige Performance Excellence Program is managed by National Institute of Standards and Technology, working with the private sector.

Chancellor Charles W. Sorensen and Provost Julie Furst-Bowe, two nationally recognized experts on the Baldrige award and program, are available to discuss the impact that the award has had on UW-Stout.

Contact Doug Mell, executive director of communications and external relations, at or (715) 232-1198 to arrange interviews.